My name is Matthew and I'm a mastering engineer. I love helping people make the records of their dreams.

I'm staff engineer at Bob Weston's Chicago Mastering Service where since 2012 I've mastered and cut vinyl master lacquers for hundreds of releases from Merge Records, Sub Pop, Matador, Fat Possum, Polyvinyl, Jagjaguwar, Numero Group, Goner, and many, many others.

I've also recorded and mixed dozens and dozens of projects (mostly at The Echo Lab and Electrical Audio) and offer remote mixing services.

I co-founded The Echo Lab recording studio in Denton, Texas. I'm a member of the bands Mint Mile and Tre Orsi, and have been tour manager and live sound engineer for Superchunk, Destroyer, Bob Mould, The New Pornographers, Ex Hex, Jawbox, CHVRCHES, and the Mountain Goats.

I'd love to help you on your next project. Get in touch.

Mastering Credits

You can view a relatively exhaustive list of my production credits at discogs.com.

Selected Mastering Projects

The New Pornographers

Continue as a Guest (Merge Records)

Bob Mould

Blue Hearts (Merge Records)

Bob Mould

Sunshine Rock (Merge Records)


What A Time To Be Alive (Merge Records)


Superchunk (Remastered) (Merge Records)


Wild Loneliness (Merge Records)

Mac McCaughan

The Sound of Yourself (Merge Records)


Strange Peace (Sub Pop)


II (Sub Pop)


Acid / Slow Decay (Sub Pop)

Pink Mountaintops

Peacock Pools (ATO Records)

Twin Peaks

Side A


Present Tense (Trouble in Mind)


Void Moments (Trouble in Mind)

Titus Andronicus

An Obelisk (Merge Records)

Songs: Ohia

Travels In Constants (Temporary Residence Ltd)

Pissed Jeans

Why Love Now (Sub Pop)

The Gotobeds

Debt Begins at 30 (Sub Pop)


3 (Goner Records)


Silent Kill (Dirtnap Records)

Mind Spiders

Furies (Dirtnap Records)

Casiotone for the Painfully Alone

Etiquette (2018 Remaster) (Orindal Records)

Advance Base

Animal Companionship (Run For Cover)


1992-1998 box set (Numero Group)

The New Year

Snow (Undertow Records)


In The West (2020 Remaster) (Comedy Minus One Records)

Mint Mile

Ambertron (Comedy Minus One)

Patois Counselors

The Optimal Seat (ever/never)

Los Mundos

La Fortaleza del Sonido (Little Cloud Records)

Chris Brokaw

Puritan (12XU)

Thee Conductor

Spirit of a Ghost (Sixgunlover Records / Spaceflight Records)


Follow a Song From the Sky (Federal Prisoner)


No Rules (Nevado)

Split Single


Karima Walker

Waking the Dreaming Body (Orindal Records / Keeled Scales)

for Merge Records:

for Sub Pop Records (and related artists):

for Numero Group:

for Goner Records:

for Damnably Records:

for Comedy Minus One Records:

for ever/never Records:

for 12XU:

for Dirtnap Records:

for Super Secret Records (and related labels):

Recording and mixing

I co-founded The Echo Lab recording studio in Denton, Texas in 1997 and have recorded, mixed, and produced projects such as:

Get in touch

I'd love to help you on your next project. You can email me mb@matthewbarnhart.com or use the contact form below.